Theatre

December 9, 2007

My fascination with photography started not with any sort of natural inclination toward photography as I knew it as a youngster (classical, dull b/w 2nd-rate Edward Weston stuff) but because when I was a college th****e student and directed plays I ended up thinking of them, especially the ones I wrote, more and more as tableaux vivant, and subsequently got more interested in documenting the productions by means of still photography than in the productions themselves.  Then a friend gave me a point-and-shoot she found in a parking lot where she worked and here I am today, anxious, broke, and slowly circling back to the kind of overt theatricality that first interested me.

So one or two of these may go in the show as near-lifesize works.  I generally don’t like gigantor photography, but I want to underline the aggression latent in the shots below.

 And if you are thinking “Derek Jarman’s The Last of England ripoff!!” you get bonus points. 

last08a.jpg

last02a.jpg

last01a.jpg

last14a.jpg

bodies1.jpg

Leave a Reply

