More Homework

January 5, 2008

I keep going on and on about marketability and how the marketability of the artist is now as important as (if not more important than) the marketability of the work itself.  But we’ve already established that I’m not young, good-looking, charming, and rich.  So.

What do I mean when I talk about a “marketable” photograph?  I’m actually not sure.  The answer to what kind of photograph is most marketable is probably “a painting,” but leaving that aside, I think the formula, as it were, boils down to three things:

1) The photograph is large.

2) The photograph is visually compelling (i.e. interesting enough that you want to keep looking at it).

3) The photograph looks like a lot of thought went into it but it doesn’t actually require anyone looking at to actually have to think.

That pretty much covers everybody from Cindy Sherman to Andreas Gursky to Jeff Wall.   (I’m not knocking Cindy Sherman, though, because there’s enough there to think or not think.  I am knocking Gursky and Wall, who are the Ansel Adamses of our era.) 

So here’s entry number one for “marketable photograph.”  Actual size: 4 by 6 feet. 

la2a.jpg

2 Responses to “More Homework”

  1. AdamFeldmeth Says:

    If I bought art, which I don’t, I would say put me down for two.

  2. Nicholas Says:

    Ha!

    That’s the view of the Old Rd. you can see from the parking lot behind the photo studios, by the way. I forgot to focus the camera.

    And I forgot condition #4: make very-limited editions. (This is a condition, not my rule: If it were up to me, any photo I produced would be framed on the wall and then offered as an endless takeway stack on the floor ala Gonzalez-Torres, who may just be my Favorite Photographer Ever not for what he took pictures of but for how he displayed/circulated them.


Leave a Reply

