Thing of the Day

January 12, 2008

On a personal note, I signed up for my last semester of classes on Thursday.  Eleven.  Eleven classes.  Teachers were following me around trying to cut deals with me to take their classes.  It left me sort of shell shocked.  Schedule: Graduate Critique, Performance and Document, Fuzzy Pictures, Interactivity, Sound Art, (writing) Thesis Workshop, Poetics, and four independent studies.  So, uh, yeah.  The class I’m actually most excited about is a non-credit class of presentations by students on various topics.  So I guess it’s convenient that I’m living in my studio?

Also I have to write two books and put together six art shows by March.  (More about that later.)

On an impersonal note: there’s a nearby shut-down store in a strip-mall that looks unnervingly like a white cube gallery.  I’m going to try to get in touch with the property owners and see if I can borrow the space for a one or two-day group show.  Would it be too tacky for the show to have a shopping theme?  Images like the following: 

 bananaa1.jpg

I’m fascinated that Banana Republic now offers rear-views of its merchandise.  There’s something servicey yet a little “panopticon” about it.  And it must be weird to have to model your back to the camera.

One Response to “Thing of the Day”

  1. AdamFeldmeth Says:

    Are you meaning that Hobbytown USA that shutdown over there by the Elephant Bar place?


Leave a Reply

