Should I Stay or Should I Go?

April 9, 2008

So if you read what I posted a few days ago about my mentor thinking I’m a piece of shit and being bold (well, drunk) enough to say it, allow me to fill you in on the non-events that rapidly ensued.

None of the photo faculty or students are talking to me now.  This wouldn’t really bother me at all except for the fact that I live in my studio so I see people constantly and all the bumping-into plus the cold-shoulder is, let’s say, awkward.

Whatever, because I’m “getting out of the business” anyway, right?  Right.  But before that there are two decisions to make.  This weekend’s hangdog “open studios” day: should I participate or not?  On one hand, there’s no reason not to, but on the other, why put myself through five solid hours of Awkwardness?

More importantly, I haven’t heard back from the 6-4 Cav about orders or anything, and my funding fell through, so I have to figure all of that out, and it’s going to take a lot of figuring out.  A vet I talked to recently suggested I skip the body armor and just get an old Vietnam-era flak vest, that I could get away with that, so maybe if I do that plus the “stranded” thing another soldier told me about I might be able to do this on a budget.  And, what with a teaching career going down in flames because there’s now only exactly one (1) person who’d write me a letter of recommendation, this project is even more important.

Anyone know where to get genuine-imitation flak vests that look real but don’t cost real money?

One Response to “Should I Stay or Should I Go?”

  1. Grace Says:

    I wish I had read this when I was there. they did the same thing to me and my brother.


Leave a Reply

