Intro to Video Art

June 13, 2008

Let’s see if this works:

In between marathon job-application sessions, I’ve been studying up on what for me is a new medium: video art.  But the video art I’ve been studying is the one I grew up with: music videos.  I’m trying to link one of the most amazing pieces of video art / music video that I’ve seen here so that all four of you can view it, but we’ll see if it works.

<object width=”425″ height=”344″><param name=”movie” value=”http://www.youtube.com/v/ENE1eWtW7e8&hl=en”></param><embed src=”http://www.youtube.com/v/ENE1eWtW7e8&hl=en” type=”application/x-shockwave-flash” width=”425″ height=”344″></embed></object>

I think that means “no.”  So go here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ENE1eWtW7e8

One Response to “Intro to Video Art”

  1. Will Says:

    I loved that video. I tried to put it in my favorites, but youtube
    got bought and now nothing works on it. Sigh…

    You probably know his stuff already, but make sure you see
    a few Bill Viola pieces in a museum/gallery. Simple stuff, but
    it brings me to tears. The Milwaukee museum had one a few years
    ago. I was totally entranced in the room where it was installed,
    so overpowered by it (and what I was getting out of it) that I
    could hardly breathe. Next to me a stream of people stepped in,
    looked for a second, said, “hm”, and walked out.

    [insert sardonic comment here]


Leave a Reply

