Anniversaries

June 28, 2008

So I almost died yesterday.  Or, as folks older than I am might put it, I “had a scare,” i.e. I had a very mild stroke.  (No biggie.  But: don’t trust doctors, and visit here to learn the warning signs.)

Today also happens to be the 21st anniversary of my father’s death.  Since I’m 31 and he was 54, I’m getting closer to the balance point between “years he’s been dead” and “the amount of years between my age and the age of his death.”  Morbid, I know.  But this is what living with my family is like.  Anyway.

I guess the stroke was convenient in terms of being able to fold into that other anniversary so I can remember when it happened, and why what happened w/r/t it happened.  (If this is oversharing, skip to the pictures.)  Anyone else out there observe a family member’s Death Date, even 21 years after the fact?

Anyway, the opposite of death is not life, it seems, but work, so here’s some new work.  The medical carryover is strictly coincidental, but appropriate, no?

 

3 Responses to “Anniversaries”

  1. AdamFeldmeth Says:

    Unfortunate news on that scare.


  2. Back from Europe; glad to hear you’re ok. I’ve already outlived one grandparent, Jesus, Mozart, and Elvis; I also survived a week in ICU. I guess it taught me something about quality vs. quantity.

  3. Nicholas Says:

    Quantity being much more important, right? 🙂

    Anyway now they’re telling me it was psychosomatic but I’m wondering how half my body can have a panic attack and the other, not, unless my panic is that sophisticated, which it could be.

    Plus what gets dumped here is more like a sketch book than anything else, but it’s hard to “sketch” a photo when you could just take it.


Leave a Reply

