Back to work!

July 1, 2008

Okay.  So.  Quantity vs. quality.  Or, as I like to think of it, constipation vs. diarrhea.  As Michael noted in a comment in the last post, there were folks whose work tended toward the former (like Michael) and those whose work tended toward the latter, like yours truly. 

And, if course, it’s not a matter (for me) of one is better than another as much as each can have its own pitfalls.  I’ve seen people lean too hard on quality as a reason for never producing anything, and I’ve seen people lean hard on quantity and lose 1) quality control and 2) art world stock because they make the supposedly brow-forrowing, hard work of artmaking seem too easy.

There’s also the troublesome question, in our Internet Era, of who gets to see what when.  This, for example, is a blog, and as such I expect it to be read by a small number of people and some random onlookers who are interested in what my work is like, day to day.  What you’re seeing here is how the sausage gets made.  Some people would prefer not to know, and just get delievered the sausage (so to speak) every two years or so, with an assurance that the two-year intervals of silence are filled with a lot of backstage sausage-making. 

The problem(?) is that I love seeing how the sausage gets made; it’s as fascinating to me as the sausage itself.  And I tend to assume other people share both this and my type A, workaholic personality of “why put off until tomorrow what you can already feel angry over not having done yesterday?”

Plus there’s the “sketch” factor.  I’m currently working on 1 painting and 1 video, or example, and each are taking me forever.  However, unless you have a Jeff Wall-shaped stick up your butt, photography is different: often the initial impulse is the final product.  Hence a glut of images and a focus on “photographic craft,” which, please.

So for me, the idea has always been: pursue any idea, no matter how ridiculous, because it may lead somewhere worthwhile.  Overthinking, for me, is fatal.

So here are some pictures of ceiling fans.  I was bored last night and wondering, if I do become disabled, how would that shape my work?  And it turns out late-night ceiling fan shots perfectly capture a little piece of what summer in the midwest is like.  Are these ever going to be “shown”?  Probably not.  But they might lead to something that is.

 

Leave a Reply

