Who are you?

October 1, 2008

Okay, so I know who four of you are who semi-regularly read this thing.  I’m considering scuttling it, though, because nobody is ever sufficiently moved to really comment, which is a mark of a boring blog.  So who are you people?  Leave a comment.  Hate mail.  Get out your anger.  Ask some questions?  Leave some one-dish recipes?  Tell me what to do ’cause I can’t afford to go back to grad school and don’t want to anyway.  Or, you know, no worries.

8 Responses to “Who are you?”

  1. Will Says:

    Don’t scuttle it! It’s the only way I know what you’re doing.
    I love the NTC teasers, I tell people about them and all agree
    that it’s damned interesting. The last set of photos had a really
    lush tone that I loved, too. Apologies if this sounds like cheering
    from the home corner, but it’s my art-educated opinion that
    this stuff is worthwhile.

    I don’t comment more since I fear asking too many pesky questions,
    and the artist friend I show this stuff to is too shy to comment
    himself, though he verbally enjoys it.

    Please keep this thing up. I only wish you’d started it sooner.
    (Post more writings, perhaps?)

  2. Nicholas Says:

    I keep having this deluded fantasy of dropping out of sight and re-inventing myself as a composer. I walk around and think of clarinet trios. This is just ’cause there’s a certain safety in music’s abstraction that I like and I have no real intentions of doing this, but still.


  3. You’re at post 99 (and counting?) I think you should leave one more (or 901 more) just to even things out; it’s the OCD in me.

    Seriously though, have some of the same quandaries about my blog too. I think one of the shortcomings is that they aren’t structured in a way that’s conducive to dialog. I’ve been mulling over some ideas–looking for a solution that doesn’t devolve into a crappy web 2.0 site.

    On a positive note, it does feel good to type out my thoughts and build on them over time, regardless of readership. My deluded belief is that things like readership and dialog build over time (if that’s something you’re going for) and requires regular posting (which isn’t my forte).

    For my final review at CalArts, I printed out every post (which filled up a 3″ binder). Afterwards I separated them in to categories and I learned quite a bit in the process. Some types of posts became uninteresting to me, like the art world gossip stuff. It actually generates a lot of traffic, but I think there are all ready too many bloggers who I would put into the category of amalgamators: folks who post news bits, links to reviews, and the occasional video on a daily basis. If you subscribe to several of their feeds it quickly turns into an echo chamber. My personal blog reading preferences include original-content posters (of which you are one) and folks who write on a narrow topic of interest to me.

    On a purely selfish note, your blog is a lazy way for my to keep up with your thoughts and doings, even if I don’t leave a comment. I loved the images in your previous post, btw.

  4. Adam Says:

    For many posts, such as ones that are solely made of images I’m not exactly sure how to comment. I’m built for hours of discussion over a single image; the space here isn’t sufficient, and it seems trite to leave encouraging comments (with two thumbs up) for something.

    I think it is interesting that for both Michael and yourself who pursued these blogs while students at a think tank (Calarts) as a way to help yourselves process (semi-publicly) are now trying to harness a bit of a think tank like atmosphere within the structure of blogging. I think it works in some cases (Ed Winkleman’s blog as example) at times simply pitches a topic out there to be worked out. He obviously has a larger audience, but some of the difficulty I have in responding to some of the posts is brought on by the feeling that I am simply there to be a diligent pupil (in the case of Michael’s) or I am enlisted into therapy (in the case of yours, Nicholas). Michael’s posts are just as informational as they are opinionated and yours are inner monologue mixed with some digestion (your writing excerpts and images).

    I think the blog structure is fairly synonymous to the classroom. The blogmeister at the helm facilitates a topic and presents it to the room. The students listen and…What does a teacher do when they are met by a sea of blank stares?–If no one is responding then begin asking those faces you can see questions directly. The four students for your blog check it consistently; no one is ever absent.

    Essentially what I am hearing is that you don’t wanna become the teacher from the Peanuts comics that can only by understood as saying “WaaWa Wa Wa”.

    But just look how this post is generating response! It is not because we cannot hear you and you cannot see us. Something difficult to accomplish if it is the think tank you are after in blogging is getting readers who leave comments to return multiple times to the same post so an actual back and forth can begin. You are notified when new comments come in and can so respond.

  5. Will Says:

    For more on what you can do with web text and images, check
    these two out:

    http://www.ted.com/index.php/talks/jonathan_harris_tells_the_web_s_secret_stories.html

    http://wordle.net/

    Each blog is part of a conversation, and you’d be surprised who’s
    listening.


  6. I love your blog, online love meaning I click on it at least 3x a week. And I don’t think you can measure your effectiveness by comments. Some goofy blogs get hundreds of comments. As someone who has a blog and has also been part of a newspaper (decades of print only), I still think everybody in the audience is a mystery. They comment, they don’t comment: Who knows what it means? Yes, you can measure clicks, but chasing clicks is a good way to run out of gas. Think, type, post and walk away. Who you are and what you’ve seen will carry it. Regina

  7. lee perillo Says:

    i actually really enjoy reading your blog.

  8. Nicholas Says:

    Lee! How is Year 2 treating you? Everyone else: thanks. Blogging is a very navel-gazing enterprise.


Leave a Reply

