Art dump/Fire Sale

October 3, 2009

So I’ve initiated the process of going to Iraq by going about renewing my passport and getting a highly discounted four-month gym membership.  But that costs money, you say!  Yes.  Yes it does.  I have been making a lot of work with hopes of selling it in hopes of raising the $200 I need for a passport and gym membership and the $5000 I need to actually go to Iraq.  Below are some examples of stuff I’ve made; prices range from $250 to $1000, and most of the stuff is painting or drawing and most of it, expecially the explosion photos, is large.   Contact me if you’re interested, all six of you who read this thing.

There’s a big Warhol show coming up at the Milwaukee Art Museum and I’ve been thinking about Warhol a lot lately because my recent work and “subcontracting” echoes a lot of what Warhol did.  More on that later, but for now, some art.

explosion01a

explosion02a

untitled prints from the Mayhem series

denim1

an abstract painting consisting entirely of denim

fail1

FAIL

gloomanddoom1

diptych of paintings, 16×20″ each

hyper1

drawing of text taken from a news story on Pitchfork.com

liberty1

Drawing from last year, though it works with the metal/heavy stuff.

sloppy1

Not sure if this is readable at this size.  Small drawing of fake metal bands.  If I ever start a metal band I’m calling it Evil Bakesale.

stolen1

Large painting, acrylic on velvet.  The text is from the Coil album of the same name and the full title is Stolen and Contaminated (for Sleazy, after Christopher Wool).

Sleazy emailed me, by the way, if that kind of thing knocks your socks off.  I emailed him about using a Coil track in the metal show and he emailed me back and said yes and was very nice.  I nearly wet myself with hero worship joy.

One Response to “Art dump/Fire Sale”


Leave a Reply

