Queer (again) Abstraction (again)

April 14, 2010

So following what I am going to call the success of the show at Sea and Space and Michael’s sorting through of our dialogue from a while back I was primed to make some new work; in California I had made some work of an abandoned-looking Fake Iraq training center which you can see under “The End” at my website, and also did the performance/rehearsal in LA of the Houdini routine (and wow do I look fat and neckless on video) but I wanted to take a vacation from hard-charging work pointed out into the world so I did what you naturally do: you buy some scrapbook paper at Target.

This paper, specifically, was a series of cut-out designs that I don’t know how to describe other than “flouncy” and my original impulse was to place images behind the paper and then scan.  The “windows” are a little small for that and it ended up that just scanning them stacked against each other gave you a hypercomplex and variable grid of flounce that still looked effeminate (at a small size) and kind of psychotic (at the large size I’m printing them at).

So, then, here you have queer abstraction.  Sort of.  And by sort of I mean that I don’t necessarily think you can fulfill the terms of that phrase and that it might not be a good move anyway and that queer representation that “falls apart” as you look at it seems to be a lot more interesting.  More on this later, but for now the image dump:

One Response to “Queer (again) Abstraction (again)”

  1. Devan Says:

    The great thing about digital scrapbooking is that you can undo errors very easy. When you mess up a regular scrapbook page, you have no way to fix it but to cover it up with another picture or paper.


Leave a Reply

