Desert Military Landscape Photo Dump

June 9, 2010

So I’ve been applying for jobs and getting interviews and then getting terse fake-friendly no thanks calls and I’m just all about ready to go shoot myself or something.  (Not really.)  But I have been sifting through old work because one of the things you can do while you’re waiting around to be homeless is apply for residencies.  I’m applying to Light Work and want to do something on the odd “military-threaded” mounds of rock/sand/dirt photos I’ve accumulated over the years.

I’ve taken probably 2000 photos of “Fake Iraq” and no I’m probably not going to get to embed either so maybe if I can live out of garbage cans and sleep on floors in LA for a while I want to do a whole project about the US military’s encroachment into the Mojave desert.  Encroachment is not really the right word because there was nothing there but endangered turtles to begin with (really) but it’s startling how much southern California real estate is taken up by the Army, Air Force and Marines.  And the Navy in San Diego, obviously.  Documenting this seems interesting and worthwhile but probably costs more money than I can even dream of dreaming about.

You can sort of tell I’m not in a good mood, right?  Photos:

Leave a Reply

