The Surface Informs the Underneath

August 18, 2010

Okay, so.  Still fundraising for Afghanistan (see below).

Anyway: I am working out my frustrations w/r/t Afghanistan by making a lot of work, esp this stuff, which are large (30×40″) scans of stuff I bought at the dollar store.  This relates in a vague way to the previous post in that the camera (or in this case the flatbed scanner) can “see” better or differently than the eye.   Also, I have to admit, just like any other artist I sometimes make work for the sheer visual pleasure of it.

Everything below is a small detail of the overall print.   I would name the individual objects but that seems less important than looking at the surface of things, here.

Leave a Reply

