Langauge and its Discontents

July 12, 2011

While I’m busy making more slowly-made work I thought I would post other text pieces from the past few years.  An acquaintance accused me yesterday of only making work about masculinity (he put it in cruder terms) and I think c. 2008 he would have been right but over the last year I’ve moved through abstraction into this current prolonged work with text, and for organizational purposes and/or a show that was supposed to happen but won’t I put together a folder with all my good text pieces in it, which vary widely in form and style but that’s sort of the point: text is text but the language of how it is read/displayed/absorbed is what’s interesting in relation to the content and context of the text itself.  So a few samples are below.

Leave a Reply

