Vernacular Interlude

July 30, 2011

So I read I Heart Photograph and peruse other sites and a lot of what I see (re: photography) by people my age or younger falls into one of two categories: 1) sculptural studio setups built for the purpose of being photographed, and 2) vernacular/snapshot aesthetic photography in a variety of forms.  I’m not saying this is good or bad or strange, just interesting.  Young photography seems to rest on the ephemeral.

Then again, when I started out I did the same thing; it was a sort of entry way into figuring out I could make photos in other ways, and I moved into those territories instead of getting any good at vernacular work.   My work has always leaned toward the conceptual and now, making ephemeral wall works out of text, both to photograph and to exist as art objects, I feel farther away from conventional photography than I’ve ever been.  So I decided to try my hand at photogrpahing things in my immediate environment–no intervention other than using a flash instead of available lighting because I like the oversatured, bad-product-photography look of it.

Results are below and are an interlude while I’m working on complicated things that require carving and painting and/or a lot of Photoshop work so progress on that is slow and part of me wants to leave photography behind entirely and focus on text work but that full transition probably won’t ever happen.  Anyway:

Leave a Reply

