Theme and Variations

October 14, 2011

So I have three “lines” of the newish abstraction going (one I’m still not sure about) and at this point I’m making minor experiments and adjustments to them until I have enough work to edit down to a portfolio, or at least a coherent sequence on my website.  So below you have some subtle shifts; in the white/pencil work (and I still don’t have good names for these) there are just more lines so the non-pattern seems more ornate; in the green/gray work I’m still tiling large blocks of color but now combining painterly blocks with flat Photoshop colors to see how that works, if that works.  Also launching back in to taking portraits of cops just as something to do that’s (I guess counter-intuitively) more straightforward, but my success rate on that will probably be close to zero and I’m not sure how many phone calls I want to place over and over again.

Leave a Reply

