And Then Life Interrupts

October 16, 2011

It’s not bad news but check it out: based on my Fake Iraq work I got nominated for the $10k Santa Fe Prize for Photography.  Which would mean I would probably go to Afghanistan.  Now I have to submit work and a statement etc. but I have plunged deeply into colorfield abstraction and had a conceptual epiphany on Friday and then on Saturday I’m digging back through the archives sorting through what I thought was ancient history: because of the recession, or maybe just fatigue, nobody cares about the war anymore so nobody cares about war-related artwork, except for the anonymous person who nominated me.

So now I’m in two very different artwork worlds and it’s hard to jump from one to the other.  I am still making abstract stuff right now though because some other random great things happened all at once and it freaked me out so now it’s abstraction as soothing activity, temporarily.

Leave a Reply

