Salesmanship

November 29, 2011

So here’s some new work.  Some of this might end up in a show next spring, if things fall like dominoes the way they I hope they do, but I’ve been scolded for what I do best–thinking of all the parts of any process simultaneously–and was just told to be the artist and get everyone else–the curator involved, the dealer, the prospective viewers–out of my head.

I’ve had a hard time on both counts.  I can get the curator and dealer gone, but the viewer lingers, because this work isn’t navel-gazing and while it’s a conceptually complex document of/replacement for painting, or the idea of painting, I also just want people to like it enough so they look at it enough so they start to think about those questions.  Or else just buy it and take it home and I make enough money to travel to LA and switch apartments next fall.

Here’s the work.  Is it challenging?  I don’t know.  Is it seductive?  I don’t know either.  I just know that (except maybe for the bright red/blue one) as an artist, I would be fine with putting it in a (hugely overcomplexly complicated) show.

Leave a Reply

