Whoops

February 26, 2012

So I had planned a whole project of posters like he one in the post below.  Not too tough, right?  And I bought a book of icons to use for this purpose.  Smart idea, right?  But then it turns out that, duh, color books are still printed according to a dot system so if you flatbed scan an icon you’re not going to get a nice smooth image you’re going to get something really rough at every edge.  This is true even if the image is just black and white.  So maybe the internet has some icons, right?  Sure, except they’re way too small to use and most of them are watermarked anyway.

It’s not as if I don’t have other work to work on, even though there was that fun time yesterday when I thought my camera died.  It turned out the battery died without warning, and I have the money for a replacement battery, right?  Yeah not quite.  First I need to get my car fixed and renew my driver’s license and car registration and try to save some money to visit LA and buy some pants that fit and on and on and on.  There’s also the whole “get a ridealong with a cop” thing I want to do that costs $20 I don’t have.  So there’s that.  There’s also the “sites of masculinity” project that should only take a few phone calls, right?  Sure.  I’ve been down that road before.  And I have the gas money to travel to all these places, right?

So what I need to do is make a lot of money very quickly, and the only problem with that is that it is not possible.  I’m not complaining, because things just are the way they are right now, but being broke is an unchangeable variable in my art-making equations.  So right now because for personal reasons I need to work on really engrossing artwork I’m probably going to keep tweaking the Memory Loss photos, which are finished, and try to find something like that to occupy me because boy do I need to be occupied right now.

Two more Memory Loss (if that’s the title) images below; color and placement is tricky and cleaning very minor bits of dust off will be slow but I need more of this so I don’t have any time to think.

 

Leave a Reply

