Not quite sure what I’m doing here.

July 29, 2012

I’ve mentioned before (I think) my secret desire to be an eb-ex painter, not now in 2012 but were that I would’ve been born in the 1920s and were an artist that’s probably where I would’ve ended up, if I had gone through the traditional process of first knowing how to paint figurative paintings but figurative painting/drawing is just not a skill I can even remotely master no matter how hard I try.

Anyway, here’s interest borne out of laziness: back in 2008 I decided to just draw on a color negative because I couldn’t think of anything to write and I really liked the results, so now it’s 2012 and this year so far I’ve produced 25 of these.  And yes, largely, they do all look the same after a while, at least most of them, but there’s enough variance that they would make a nice footnote to an installation or else one of them, and some of these things are 4×5 feet, would make for interesting single images in group shows that I am not in.

My favorite ones are when things look vaguely intestine; it cuts the sugary quality of them.  I’m not sure about the “Jackson Pollock meets Peter Max” quality of the bottom two; those are huge prints so they might work not backlit and big but they’re a little Disney.  I bought some discount colored Sharpies and tried multilayered colors; everything else you see is black Sharpie with the color adjusted in Photoshop.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

